WSET, IWSC Future 50 Nominations Open

Future 50 nominations close: 14th March, 2019

The Wine and Spirit Education Trust (WSET) and International Wine and Spirit Competition (IWSC), both celebrating 50th anniversaries this year, recently announced the creation of The Future 50, an awards programme designed to recognise the next generation of drinks industry professionals.

The Future 50 awards are open to all areas of the trade, including product development, journalism, hospitality, training, and marketing. The WSET and IWSC are now calling for industry folk to nominate themselves or inspirational colleagues for consideration by the awards panel.

Winners will be chosen by a panel of judges from around the world, which includes Joe Fattorini (The Wine Show), Stephanie Macleod (Master Blender, Dewar’s), Christine Parkinson (Group Head of Wine, Hakkasan), Richard Paterson (Master Blender, Whyte & MacKay), Xavier Rousset MS (restaurateur), Ian Harris (CEO WSET) and Allen Gibbons (CEO IWSC). The main judging panel will be supported by a global regional advisory panel covering 17 countries and including Debra Meiburg MW (Hong Kong), Ian Dai (China), James Tidwell MS (USA) and Pedro Ballesteros MW (Spain).

Nominees will be judged on their achievements within the drinks industry over the past three years. The Future 50 results will be announced in November 2019, ahead of the IWSC awards banquet. The deadline for nomination submission is 14th March, 2019.

Visit the Future 50 website for more information and to submit a nomination.