Glasgow Bar Awards 2020 Winners Announced

Inaugural Glasgow Bar Awards Winners Revealed at the Glasgow Bartenders’ Ball

Hospitality Legend Winner Geraldine Murphy

The great and the good of Glasgow’s bar community gathered on Monday January 20th at the city’s Saint Luke’s music and arts venue for a Bartenders’ Ball, and the inaugural Glasgow Bar Awards ceremony.

Conceived by Glasgow Bartenders Club members Andy Gemmell, David Smillie, and Fraser McIlwraith, the awards recognised excellence in 9 categories which were assessed by a combination of industry votes and an expert judging panel. The category winners were revealed at the Glasgow Bartenders Ball which, if the photos supplied to us by the PR agency are anything to go by, was quite the craic (how often do you see a New Orleans brass band and a Ceilidh at the same bash?).

Event organiser Andy Gemmell said: “What we wanted to do with the Glasgow Bartender’s Ball was bring together the bar community in the city… Our hospitality industry is an amazing one but also a tough one with long hours and unsocial shift patterns – especially over the Christmas period… This was our opportunity to give back, create something that would say thanks for all their hard work in this amazing industry and help them build new friendships across the trade. ”

Glasgow Bar Awards 2020 Results

Best drinks list – Cocktails
Winner: Wheesht
Nominated: Five March; Finnieston; Kelvingrove Cafe; Spiritualist

Best drinks list – Wine
Winner: Le Petit Cochon
Nominated: Brett; Bar Vini; The Gannett; Vronis

Best Drinks List – Beer
Winner: Inn Deep
Nominated: Grunting Growler; KoelschipYard; Shilling Brewing Co.; Allison Arms

Best drinks List – Spirits
Winner: Pot Still
Nominated: Tiki Bar; Citizen; Bon Accord; Five March

Worst Chat
Winner: Alasdair Shaw from The Gate
Nominated: Sam Worrall; Ross Campbell; Calum McMillan; James Kemp

Best Bar Team
Winner: Blue Dog
Nominated: Spiritualist; Pot Still; Tiki Bar; Nice n Sleazy

Best Shake
Winners: Liam Grogan and Marc McPartlin from Tiki Bar

Unsung Hero
Winner: Erin McGeough from Websters.

Hospitality Legend
Winner: Geraldine Murphy from Pot Still